How Does Canada Immigration Work?


Immigrating to another country can be an overwhelming and yet exciting process. You can enter Canada via a temporary work permit or a permanent residence visa. Obtaining a permanent resident visa means you can enjoy the rights of a citizen in the country.

One major difference between getting a permanent resident visa and citizenship is that immigrants with the latter can be deported to their home country if they commit a grave offense.


The 6 primary categories of Canadian immigration include the Provincial Nomination Program, Federal Skilled Worker, Business Immigrant, Canadian Experience Class, Family Sponsorship, and Quebec Skilled Worker. Other options are the Temporary Foreign Worker Program and Asylum Program.

It should be noted that each program has requirements that are slightly different from the rest. Let’s delve deeper into each category.


Provincial Nomination Program

The Provincial Nomination Program came into existence as a result of the collaboration between the provincial governments and the Canadian government. With this initiative, qualified individuals can be selected to become immigrants in the provinces. 

Most of the provinces that are running this program often nominate immigrants whose jobs are in high demand.

The first step to take is to apply for a Provincial Nomination Certificate. This should be in the province where you want to settle down. The next thing is to apply for a Canadian permanent resident visa.

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Apart from the basic requirement of a minimum level of work experience, applicants are required to meet any of the conditions below to qualify for this program:

  • Secure a full-time job offer from a Canada based employer.
  • They should be an international student or temporary foreign worker for a minimum of one year.
  • They should be working for at least a year in any of the 38 qualifying jobs.

Other factors that will be considered include the availability of sufficient financial resources and having at least 67 points in the points-based assessment. Here are the selection factors that constitute the assessment with the maximum number of point for each:

  • Age (10 points)
  • Education (25 points)
  • Experience (21 points)
  • Language Skills (24 points)
  • Adaptability (10 points)
  • Arranged Employment (10 points).
  • Business Immigration Program

The Business Immigration Program is targeted at immigrants who have what it takes to contribute to the growing economy of Canada. This can be in the form of offering managerial skills or investment opportunities.

Check out the different categories of the Business Immigration Program:

  • Immigrant Investor Program
  • Self-Employed Persons Program
  • Entrepreneur Program.
  • Canadian Experience Class Program

This program is designed for international students and temporary foreign workers who want to become permanent residents in Canada.

Each category of applicants have varying requirements:

  • An immigrant who has graduated in any reputable Canadian institution must have completed a program of study and acquired at least one year of work experience. Such an applicant must also possess basic language skills.
  • A temporary foreign worker is expected to have moderate language skills with a minimum of two years of work experience.
    • Family Class Sponsorship Program

The Family Class Sponsorship program allows permanent residents or citizens to sponsor their family members to Canada. A sponsor must be at least 18 years of age to be eligible and agree that they can offer financial support to the family member for up to 10 years.

It doesn’t end there, the sponsored relative must sign a contract stating that they will try their best to be self-reliant.

Permanent residents or citizens can sponsor their dependent children, parents, grandparents or spouses. In case they don’t have any of the listed family members, they can sponsor any relative without any age restrictions.

Quebec Skilled Worker Program

The Province of Quebec has a unique program for selecting skilled foreign workers. This province relies on a points-based system to screen immigrants. You won’t have to go through the CIC evaluation process if you’re planning to live in Quebec once you arrive in Canada.

Apart from passing the medical exam and security clearance, here are the selection factors for this program and the respective points for each:

  • Age (18 points)
  • Training (29 points)
  • Adaptability (8 points)
  • Stay and Family in Quebec (9 points)
  • Validated Employment Offer (10 points)
  • Spouse’s Characteristics (18 points)
  • Experience (9 points)
  • Children (8 points)
  • Financial Self-Sufficiency (1 point)
  • Language Proficiency (22 points).
  1. I am interested to work in Canada I have a master’s of in Urban Land development and management.

  2. Hi am chuks from Africa, looking for job offer in Canada, though am just o level of education, but can do any type of work thanks, I speak English and Spanish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like